Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Cluster of Excellence EXC 2052 - "Africa Multiple: reconfiguring African Studies"

Print page



Official signing of agreements with ACC


On Thursday, 24.10.2019, the president of the University of Bayreuth and representatives of the four African Cluster Centres came together to sign the official agreement of cooperation. With the signing of the contracts, the African Cluster Centres, namely the University of Lagos (Nigeria), Moi University (Eldoret, Kenya), Université Joseph Ki-Zerbo (Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso), and Rhodes University (Grahamstown/Makhanda, South Africa) have become members of the Cluster allowing for a new intense collaboration in research.

On Thursday, 24 October 2019, the cooperation between the University of Bayreuth and the four African Cluster Centres was finally made official. In the days leading up to the first network conference of the Cluster the representatives of the four African universities have visited the Cluster to explore ideas of cooperation, work on existing projects and ultimately sign the contracts that will be the basis of working together for the coming years. The festive ceremony took place in the presence of a considerable number of the cluster’s members. Signing for the University of Bayreuth and the Africa Multiple Cluster of Excellence were president Prof. Dr. Stefan Leible and chancellor Dr. Markus Zanner.

Goals and responsibilities

The agreements signed that day specified the goals and the responsibilities of the cooperation. The new ACCs will serve as nodes for joint research initiatives and networks within the cluster contributing their own valuable ideas and impulses. They will initiate and coordinate their own research endeavours that have close ties to the cluster’s work. All parties will intensify the exchange of ideas and experience creating synergies and knowledge transfer. Furthermore, a joint access to research data will be established. (sg)

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram UBT-A